Day Seventy: Quitter’s Junction

There comes a time in everything where you don’t see much reason to go on. Does that mean you quit? It’s gotten hard, it’s not working. Wouldn’t it just be so much easier to give up?

Honestly? The book is crap. It’s horrible. Practically unreadable. I want so badly to burn it and send its ashes rocketing into space. I want to lay in bed and forget it. It’s impossible, right now. No one is waiting on this book. If I give it up, it simply disappears.

But I’m not a quitter. So today I’m going to write twice as hard.

Every time you quit, you’ve failed. No one is going to hold you to it. No one is going to make you finish. You fail no one but yourself.

So force yourself out of bed.

Just. Keep. Writing.

4 thoughts on “Day Seventy: Quitter’s Junction

  1. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve felt this way while writing my own stories. It can be really hard to find the motivation to go on, and as you go you wonder how many times you’ll be able to pick yourself up from the proverbial floor and dust yourself off.

    I think my solution has always been to reframe the way I think about writing. I’m doing this for myself. This is my goal, and completing it will be rewarding for me. If other people like my story or find merit in it, that’s a perk, but not the end.

    It takes away a lot of the pressure I sometimes feel when I’m writing.

  2. If you run from a pack of hungry Velociraptors, you may lose. But if you give up on running, then you’ve already lost. ROAR!

  3. “But I’m not a quitter. So today I’m going to write twice as hard.

    Every time you quit, you’ve failed. No one is going to hold you to it. No one is going to make you finish. You fail no one but yourself.”

    Damn straight! Keep at it, sister. Talent’s only a fraction of the equation. Perseverance and determination make up SO much of the rest of it!

Leave a Reply

