Editing is Terrible

So… Seeing as I’ve been stuck at home, where my most interesting hobby is drowning ants in my shower (why are there ants in the shower?), you would think I’ve done some really great editing and am feeling really awesome about my book and writing.

Nope.

Editing sucks. Editing is like looking at every word you’ve ever written and thinking, “My god, I sound like an idiot.” And the worst part is… You do sound like an idiot.

It’s very rough on my self-esteem. I am genuinely embarrassed I ever allowed anyone to read this crap.

The good news is, well, at least I can realize it’s crap. At least I look at it and see what I can do to make it better. And mostly this means I have rewritten every sentence. I had to strike the word “excitedly” out of almost every exclamatory dialogue I have. Why must I be so redundant?

Anyway, yes, it’s almost painful to read my own work right now. I’m seeing the project with fresh eyes, and maybe that means I want to tear the old eyes out but…

Hopefully, my writing won’t get any worse.

10 thoughts on “Editing is Terrible

  1. That’s what I’m doing with my novel, so I feel your pain. Try to remember the excitement you felt as you wrote those words. They might need work, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t a solid foundation to build on.

  2. I think we are too hard on ourselves, but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. You’ll know when it all sounds great to you again. A great actor feels nerves before a performance. It keeps them on their toes!

    • Yeah, I think it’s easiest to be hard on yourself. It’s like painting a picture when you’re not very good at drawing, you just still want to work really hard to get it right.

  3. Hemingway said that you should write drunk and edit sober! Nonsense! I say write drunk, edit drunk! ROAR!

  4. I love editing. Yes, it can be painful and humbling to look at what you wrote and try to make it better, but it feels SO GOOD to look back when you’re done and see how much better your story is now! 😀

    • I like it too, but the amount of work I still have to do on this draft is overwhelming. I’m excited to get to work, though, mostly because I’m excited for the finished project

Leave a Reply

