Oops. My Bad

Sorry. I didn’t do my book review this weekend (I will try to write and post it tonight, instead). I haven’t written almost anything.

In fact, the only writing news I have is that I’ve started a second blog. It’s a little more focused on everyone’s favorite subject, which is of course, their selves. Anyway, it’s just about adjusting to my new city and, well, the mess that my life seems to be in currently. Check it out, if so inclined, because the only people reading it are, like, my aunts… possibly my mom.

As for my book… well, I’ve been killing my darlings… I’ve slaughtered the poor things, even. In my head, there are almost no details which I haven’t changed. I’ve even changed the age of my protagonist. I’m about to sit down and re-write chapter one. I think, in all honesty, that I will be re-writing the whole thing. Every. Last. Word.

Color me daunted.

I once read that J.K. Rowling had to type the first Harry Potter ten times. In a way, it may have been a brilliant, albeit accidental, editing technique. You’d have to really consider the importance of every little word when typing it out so many times.

So, structurally, the book is getting a makeover, but I think the story will remain almost entirely intact. The school, though, is about to be town apart. I really messed that up and, after all this writing, am returning to an earlier version of the structure of the school, which I’m actually very happy with. It’s a lot closer to my original vision of the story. No one wants to read a book about something boring.

So. Shall we do what writers do best and make a hella great story?

Back to the drafts.

7 thoughts on “Oops. My Bad

    • You as well. Gosh, though, I feel like what I want to undertake is so much more than a re-write. It’s almost like starting all over again. It’s terrifying and disheartening and exciting all at the same time.

      • I know exactly what you mean. I’m in the throws of the exact same thing with my book. In the midst of major writer’s block because of it too. All my writing friends tell me to keep writing, though. So, I do. Just try not to let your internal editor go too crazy. That’s not conducive to creativity.

      • Well, I’m sure it’s a good sign. Rather always be accepting of criticism, but I am definitely starting to believe people when they say it will never be finished. A draft can be finished, but not a book

Leave a Reply

